Home > Ateneo Trainings > Ateneo Training Hubs

The Ateneo Microfinance Capacity Building Program has been offering on-site and off-site microfinance training courses since November 2005. Since its inception, the program has reached 1,700 several microfinance institutions worldwide. The trainings are consistently rated excellent by its participants.

In order to further improve the provision of its services, the Program has partnered with key microfinance players in the Visayas and Mindanao to establish training hubs for its microfinance courses in cooperation with BPI Foundation and Globe BanKO.

Training Hubs

Four training hubs were established to more trainings on a regular basis to different microfinance institutions all over the country. The four training hubs were established with the following MFIs:

  1. Negros Women for Tomorrow Foundation, Inc. (NWTF) – Bacolod City Training Hub
  2. Katipunan Bank, Inc. (KB) – Dipolog City Training Hub
  3. Mindanao Alliance Self-help Societies – Southern Philippines Educational Cooperative Center (MASS-SPECC) – Cagayan de Oro City Training Hub and Davao City Training Hub

The trainings at the Ateneo de Manila University will be maintained as the main hub for Luzon. Two more training hubs are planned to be established before the year ends.



The objectives of the training hub include the following:

  • Provide more affordable and accessible training courses to microfinance institutions;
  • Credit training courses towards a Diploma in Microfinance
  • Employ adult learning techniques in course modules to equip participants with necessary knowledge and skills necessary to enhance the provision of microfinance services;
  • Provide participants with practical and readily applicable tools that lead to better institutional and operational policies.

Target Participants

The Ateneo Microfinance Training Hubs caters to front-liners, middle and top management staff of microfinance stakeholders. These are loan officers, supervisors, branch managers, general managers or board of trustees/directors or non-government organizations, cooperatives, rural banks, cooperative rural banks and lending investors.